LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with DAQ and Timed Loop

Hello,

I am very very new to LabVIEW and have gone through youtube tutorials but LabVIEW is very intimidating when I do not know anyone who uses it... I am doing a research project which requires vibrotactile stimulation. It's pretty simple stuff, just need NI DAQ to send out a signal from AO 0 for 4 seconds, go off for 8 seconds and repeat this 12 times, meanwhile it needs to receive input from AI 0 and write it to an excel file. I managed to send out a signal and receive my input but things start to fall apart with the timed loop. I tried to put DAQ assistant in the timed loop but it starts screaming at me with errors. I have attached my IV. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(309 Views)

I'll try to help.  Turns out I've also done some work with sensory systems using LabVIEW.

• DAQmx will be your friend, but you need to ditch the DDA (that's BS for Dreaded DAQ Assistant).  NI has a lovely White Paper (which taught me about how easy DAQmx can be) called Learn 10 Functions in NI-DAQmx and Handle 80 Percent of your Data Acquisition Applications.   Skip over Chapter 1, which talks about the DDA.
  • Plug your DAQ device (what are you using, by the way, a USB-something-or-other?) into your PC and open MAX, the Measurement and Automation Explorer.  Find your DAQ device, select it, and choose "Test Panels".  Open the Analog Output section and select AO0.  Depending on the DAQ device you have, you should be able to configure it to output a waveform at a particular updating rate.