LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulling data from 8 AI channels starting at user defined times

Hello all,

I have created a small program to read an analog voltage signal until the value drops low enough for 3 seconds, at which point the test ends and the time it ran is displayed. The test begins when the user clicks a start button, and it all works well so far. 

However, what I am struggling with is scaling this functionality up to multiple(eventually 😎 start buttons, each initiating measurement and timing from a different channel on the DAQ. I have run into the "resource reserved" error trying to separate the controls, which makes me think the data acquisition needs to be on the same task. If somebody could point me in the right direction on how to approach this I'd be very appreciative. 

I've attached the single channel version of the code below, if I need to fundamentally re-imagine this I'm willing - I'm still new to LabView and certainly default to structures that I'm comfortable with. Thanks very much for any assistance! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(169 Views)

Don't have the latest version of LabVIEW on this computer, so I cannot look at your VI, but:

1. A DAQ device can only support 1 AI task at a time. You can NOT have multiple tasks with different channels simultaneously. That is the source of your error.
  2. You can use a single task and once it is completed, set a new task for a different channel.
  3. Or you can collect multiple channels at once and analyze them in parallel to decide what you want to do with the data.

Based on your message, it looks like you have decided on #3.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(138 Views)

Hi Mcduff, thanks for letting me know about the version issue. I tried the "save for previous version" option and attached below - please let me know if I should use a different method.