LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I execute S-Function/C code generated by Simulink Coder in LabVIEW/FPGA?

I have designed a Model Predictive Controller and now I want to deploy it to real-time hardware. 

I have NI USB 6363 and NI RIO FPGA Module 9124

I have figured out that I can use Simulink Real-Time with NI DAQ Toolbox to implement MPC real-time using Simulink. But the problem is Simulink is very slow and I don't want to use it.

So, my question is to provide me with some guidelines and resources to understand how can I use the S-Function / C-Code generated by Simulink in the LabVIEW or NI RIO FPGA?

Will it execute faster enough than Simulink Real-Time?

My Controller has the following settings

Np = 08

Nc =3

Output Weight = 10

No constraints

I tried to figure out any hardware solution but these are expensive. I am an MS student and I can't buy any other hardware, I need to utilize everything available in my lab.

I can't buy a speedboat or other hardware associated with Simulink.

I am curious to use the NI FPGA Module rather than USB 6363 because it is faster.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(681 Views)

The USB-6363 is a normal DAQ interface without any user programmable part. The NI-9124 however is a non existing device. There is an NI-9214 module but it's a thermocouple IO module and I'm not sure how to even match your request about high speed with its sampling rate of 68 S/s max.

It is not clear what you want to do. You talk about Realtime execution but to my understanding there is no hardware so far in what you mention that would let you do real real-time in any way.

Definitely no NI FPGA. For that you would need an according cRIO, sbRIO or similar hardware.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(659 Views)

@rolfk I am Sorry its NI cRIO 9024

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(648 Views)