LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to stabilize Voltage input

Hello All,

I am new to Labview. I am trying my first project that consist in measuring pressure from a transducer. The output of my transducer is 4- 20 mA and I am using the USB 6229 card.

I am using a 250 ohm precision resistor so the signal converts the 4-20 mA current into 1- 5 V.  The problem is that the voltage values that I acquire oscillate a lot: For example for an expected 1 Volt input (equivalent to zero pressure), I read in labview an oscillating signal from 0.095 V and 1.05V. It represents in my sensor an unacceptable variation (about 20 psi). However, when I measure the voltage in the pins from the DAQ module using my multimeter I read a steady signal of 0.995 V for zero pressure.

I appreciate any help with this

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,329 Views)

Have you looked at this "variation"?  Might it have a frequency of 60 Hz (in the US) or 50 Hz (most of the rest of the world)?  Do you have a circuit diagram of how you are using the 250 ohm resistor?  [Why are you using a "precision" resistor?  Are you willing to trust its value?  Were you planning to calibrate your setup?].  

Am I correct that you are not an Electrical Engineering student?  [Sorry about asking so many questions and not giving "the answer" -- it is far better for you to think about what you are doing and figure it out for yourself, maybe doing a little reading on the side if necessary ...].

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,314 Views)

If you have a noisy signal, it's common to take multiple samples and average (or low pass) the values. 

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,279 Views)

Although this won't help you reduce variation, it might help you reduce surprise.