LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to stabilize Voltage input

@Shah93 wrote:

Hi, I am facing the same problem right now that you were facing almost 4 years ago. I was wondering can you tell me how you overcame that problem. I am also a mechanical engineer like you and I am not too good in this stuff. Your help will be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Shah

Shah, you really have not provided enough information about your problem.  Don't worry, it's a common enough problem that we have learned to ask good questions. 

I am going to bypass all of the preliminary questions and give you the information I missed pointing out to the original poster ( and left unaddressed by the replies)

Don't be afraid!  My magic 8-Ball is being consulted and has an extensive history of demonstrated accuracy. 

Current loops,  they are often used in physical environments where noise can be introduced.  They isolate the measurement by removing "ground" from the system and taking advantage of side effects of HOW current is measured by a DMM (read yor DMM's manual or Google it)  By the way, your handheld DMM has no connection to Earth Ground, your DAQ device does!  Your DMM measures average current over an apperature of time typically expressed in "number of power line cycles," or NPLC, and is inherently slower than a DAQ device A to D conversion.  It is naturally low-pass filtered.

So, you need to be careful about:

1. Keeping Ground out of your DAQ measurement system so as not to introduce the noise we avoided by selecting a current output sensor

2. Filtering or averaging a number of A to D conversions to duplicate that DMM measurement.