LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inconsistent time stamp when saving into csv

Hello,

This is my first time publishing, so I apologize in advance if I'm not in the correct section of the forum.

I'm currently working with DAQmx to acquire data from my sensors, and I want to include a timestamp in nanoseconds when saving my data.
However, I'm encountering an issue where the timestamp values are identical for consecutive iterations sometimes, with inconsistency.
Here's an example of the CSV output containing only the timestamp, along with the VI that produces it :

PaskalM_0-1719513805853.pngPaskalM_1-1719513910999.png

I've observed that when I introduce a 1ms delay in my while loop, the timestamp differences become consistent, approximately 1ms apart.
However, I believe I shouldn't need to use a timer delay when working with DAQmx.
Furthermore, this observation doesn't explain the issue of having consecutive timestamps with zero differences.

Does anyone have an idea of what might be causing this issue?

Thank you,

Paskal

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(486 Views)

Read the Help for the "Seconds to Date/Time String" function, which tells you that you lose precision when you do that.  I don't understand, even if this function didn't lose precision, why you'd put a function and its inverse back-to-back, since if they worked perfectly, their net effect would be the same as "multiplying by 1", i.e. a complete waste of Computer computing cycles.

You should also know that the LabVIEW "Time" value from "Get Date/Time in Seconds" has a reasonable (??) amount of uncertainty, and most likely less than nanosecond accuracy and precision (which, of course, aren't the same thing).

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(457 Views)

Thank you for your reply,

The 'back-to-back' function was actually a test that I forgot to delete. However, the results are the same in any case.