LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview com port communication error/driver failure

Hello everyone, I am a student doing summer research at Temple University. We are using labview to collect data from Lock In Amplifiers, and I am currently working on integrating a Thorlabs TSP01 temperature probe into a VI that was made before I was here. I got a VI from Thorlabs which I have integrated into the VI we have for the lock ins, however it appears that the temperature probe crashes about 1 hour into collecting data. 

I have made sure of the following according to the specs and advice from Thorlabs:

We only sample data from the probe about once every second.

We reinitialize and stop the driver session each time we collect data.

I have wrapped the temperature probe data collection in a sequence structure which I believe makes sure all those nodes occur in a sequence before the rest of the VI happens

Once the temperature probe crashes, we only read zeroes from the probe, and the rest of the VI slows down dramatically, lags and becomes unresponsive, collecting data every 5-6 seconds instead of once every second. I have time elapsed counter that usually updates once every 1/100 seconds but after the probe crashes it only updates at that once every 5-6 second rate. 

There is a Thorlabs GUI that came with the software of the temperature probe, the GUI when run alone does not cause this crash, however if I run the VI and it crashes, the GUI cannot interface with the probe until it is unplugged and reconnected to the computer. 

DiptoP_0-1722371731234.png