LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux select() LabVIEW vi?

Hi all,

I am a long-time Linux developer using LabVIEW RT.  I need to IPC with some other Linux userspace apps.  I would like to use named pipes for this.  I would also like to have multiple file descriptors for the IPC (so that I can easily section out the data types).  In doing this, I would need to use the same type of code that Linux's select(2) does.  I see that, through the use of the IPC add-on package, there is an implimentation of epoll.  I cannot seem to figure out how to link the named pipe fd to the epoll set.  Then, in another post about 1024 TCP connections, I see that the use of select(2) is favored over epoll (as it is in the Linux community at large).

What is the correct way to wait on multiple file descriptors in LabVIEW?  And, would you please point me to the correct VIs for this implementation?

Thank you in advance for any help you are willing to provide.

Andy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,552 Views)

I don't know if this is the "right" solution, but we did find a solution.  Within the VI for the named pipe (the output of which is some other data structure pointer), we found the FD we're needing to connect into the epol group.  With that, we're able to connect multiple of these files together into a single wait group.

If this is the WRONG way, or if there is a better way (the NI "right" way), please let me know.

Thanks!

Andy

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,539 Views)

@MAKennedy wrote:

I don't know if this is the "right" solution, but we did find a solution.  Within the VI for the named pipe (the output of which is some other data structure pointer), we found the FD we're needing to connect into the epol group.  With that, we're able to connect multiple of these files together into a single wait group.

If this is the WRONG way, or if there is a better way (the NI "right" way), please let me know.

Thanks!

Andy