Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

python nidaqmx stream_writers nidaqmx.errors.DaqError: Attempted to write a sample beyond the final sample generated.

I am using a NI DAQ 6341 to control an RFIC and assist with analog calibration of on-chip components. I am programming in Python -- I'm new to Python and NI hardware, and a hardware engineer, so there's been quite a bit of a learning curve. (I'm not using labVIEW -- it didn't look any easier to implement than this). 

NI-Max version 16.0

One of the requirements is to load the firmware via an SPI-like interface to the RFIC digital inputs. I've done this by loading a 9-column csv file, mapping the csv to bit positions for Port0, saved as an np array, and then stream out digital data via Port0.

The script runs fine, but the problem is that it takes a long time to write the 130k samples (about 10 min). 

Previously I had encountered errors as well with sending too much data to stream_writer, and the extra data would just be truncated. So I am breaking the samples into smaller segments.

To try to make it run faster, I have tried to use the hardware buffer and 500 kS/s sample rate on the GPIO and use (by uncommenting from the code below) 

task.timing.cfg_samp_clk_timing(500000)

However this results in an error, where it seems the first chunk of data (960 samples) writes but an error occurs on the next segment. (Ignore the 0 to 960 -- it's the python array indexes and sample[960] doesn't get written the first pass).

DOChannel(name=Dev1/port0/line7...)
Writing data from 0 to 960
Writing data from 960 to 1920
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 14, in <module>
File "C:\Users\Rodney\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python36-32\lib\site-packages\nidaqmx\stream_writers.py", line 1237, in write_many_sample_port_uint32
self._handle, data, data.shape[1], auto_start, timeout)