NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Executing a delay while looping

Due to unreliable communication I loop all communication steps in my seqeunce. It will stop looping after 1 pass or after a maximum of 3. What I'd like to do is slow it down and execute 200-500 ms delay between each retry. Can somebody suggest how this can be done? I tried calling a sequence with just a delay in it using Post Actions but I don't think this works as it technically does not fail until it fails 3 times.

Thanks

CM

Message 1 of 14
(4,693 Views)

Hi, I had this situation also.

We have the step looping with a delay inside the LV code. But of course you also could do this:

Capture.PNG

The precondition on the Break step, is that 'Communication Test' passed.

I'm pretty new to TS also, so others are welcome to comment on caveats on this or the first approach.

Best Regards

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,687 Views)

Thanks mavini, but I am using looping that's built in TS and would like to know if a delay can be added there.

CT 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(4,681 Views)

Here's what it looks like to avoid any confusion.Looping.PNG 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(4,679 Views)

Hi cimteker

Yes, I did realize that you were looping on the step. However I dont know how to achieve the delay in the manner you request. I'm not sure its at all possible. Thats why I suggested two workarounds.

The workaround we used in our project was a delay inside the code of the LabVIEW code module. The delay occurs if the communication failed, and before it returns to teststand. You could also have retries occuring inside the codemodule instead of looping the step.

If you are'nt able to edit the code module, my other workaround was the for-loop.

Another workaround: if you cant edit the codemodule, wrap it in another codemodule or a subsequence with a conditional delay/wait. The condition of course being communication failing.