NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing Variables Between MainSequence and xxx.SEQ Files

I am trying to understand how to do this with my current test stand setup.

I have a Main.seq file which has the standard MainSequence subsequences. In the Main, I call a number of .seq files that I treat as subsequences. I have not added a subsequence like this: https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA03q000000YI5HCAW&l=en-US 

So now I'm trying to figure out what the best way to pass data from inside the subsequence.seq to the Main.seq without completely changing they way I use TestStand. 

I'm trying to understand if FileGlobals is the way to go, but can't find examples of it in use. Below is my scenario where I'm trying to process the results in Main.seq, rather than in TestA.seq. Ideally I would actually like to have a ResultsProcessA.seq on the same level as TestA.seq, but I'm still learning how to pass variables between the two.

Main.seq

TestA.Seq

CustomResultsVariable

What this really comes down to is the following scenario Test A and Test B, are continuity tests for a PCB test. If we detect failures, I do not want to log those results to teststand immediately, I want to give them the option to retry so I loop the test if they click "Retry", if they click "Fail" then it will log results. So what I've done is used the evaluate, with Result Recording Option DISABLED for Test A and B. If both tests pass, then I want to re-process the results with Result Recording Option ENABLED and continue testing. I was thinking that I could make a Process Results.seq once Test A/B are passed or the operator click failed. My issue is I don't know how to pass data between sequences "on the same level". I am okay with the idea of not adding a subsequence and instead processing in Main.seq if needed. 

Main.seq

TestA.seq

TestB.seq

------------- *Potentially want to add* Process Test A & B Results.seq

Test1.seq

Test2.seq