LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Decoding XML and clustering data

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to LabView and I'm experimenting with XML and Clusters.

I need to read each XML files into a given folder, decode them, collect attributes of a specific node (Product) and store values into structured data.

It's not complete I still need to create an array of clusters, but the main VI looks like that:

tux1972_0-1728684014825.png

I defined xml schema and created some files to test it.

It looks like is working but it sounds quite complex and error prone (bundling values into cluster and control has been a real pain).. is there a simpler way to achieve the same result?

Attached: zip archive with vi, ctl, xml, xtd files.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(221 Views)

Well, LabVIEW does have built-in flatten-to and unflatten-from XML nodes:

https://www.ni.com/docs/en-US/bundle/labview-api-ref/page/functions/flatten-to-xml.html

Word of warning:  I used these in the past and no longer use them because they do not work well with changes.  If you change your cluster contents, you can't encode or decode anything that doesn't match it.

As for using XML the way you are now... it may work, but as another warning, the built-in LabVIEW XML manual encoders and decoders do not scale well.  At least, they didn't a few years back, and I haven't heard of them getting better.  There's a "squared" execution time that comes into play.  In testing, it seems that  if you change from decoding a 1,000 line XML file to decoding a 10,000 line file, instead of taking 10x longer it takes 100x longer.

Does it need to be XML or could it be JSON or another format?  I've had better luck with some of the open source JSON converters out there, and use those almost exclusively now for my data flattening needs.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(210 Views)

Does it need to be XML or could it be JSON or another format?