cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data synchronisation with USB3.0 Camera

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

Not sure this is the good board but it's related to Vision and Motion and Cameras. 

We are trying to synchronise external data (EMG and Force platform) with a Sentech USB3.0 camera : STC_MBE132U3V

I got the image acquisition part working in Labview with IMAQdx functions. 

For synchronisation we are currently using an Output of the camera to send a pulse for each frame. 

The external systems record those pulses. 

I'm trying to figure which 'Output mode' would give the best synchronisation. 

I'm attaching a picture of the 'timing chart' from the camera manuel. 

It's my first time working with cameras so I'm not sure if your supposed to synchronise with the end of the exposure, the start of the exposure, just before, etc. 

For now I was using 'Exposure End' mode. 

Thank you, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,856 Views)

Hi Patrem1,

This White Paper goes through an option of using RTSI to synchronize vision and data acquisition.

Can you tell us more about your application and what options for Output Mode are available on your camera?

Melanie P.
Technical Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,818 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Patrem1

Hi,

I checked your link but the other data are not on the same system. 

The application is like that : 

Computer 1 Camera :

Usb 3.0 camera read with Labview Vision IMAQdx program we made. 

Camera has inputs and output. 

The available output mode are as follow : 

3) Trigger Output (Programmable) [10]
This “output signal” is produced from a “Trigger Input” signal applied to the camera and may be used to trigger
another downstream camera. By referencing the beginning of the “External Trigger Input” signal to the camera, the
beginning of this trigger output timing may be programmed or delayed by adjusting “Pulse delay time” under the
“Trigger tab”.